Too busy doing what?

Busy. A word we come across far too often. Something we describe ourselves as, far too often. When you think about it, how often do you find yourself too busy to do the things that really count in life?

The past few weeks I was too busy working, too busy getting my car fixed, too busy with the bank, too busy launching my business website… busy, busy, busy! In fact I was too busy to write a blog post, and that is what gave me the inspiration to actually write this article.

Now I am not saying that work, and assets, and all that stuff is not important. Yes it is, but in the grand scheme of things, do they really count and should we be spending so much time busying ourselves with these things?

Are you going to look back on your life one day and fondly remember the time you had to fix your car’s CV Joints? No. Are you going to smile when you think of all the late nights you stayed up reading emails? I hope not.

What you will look back on and remember are the memories you made travelling, developing relationships with your family, spouse and children, and the impact you made in others’ lives. I think you get where I am going with this.

Busy is also not the best state to be in. Usually people who are busy are stressed, flustered, unproductive and agitated, simply because they are trying to juggle numerous balls at once, which is hardly a good strategy (even though us woman are renowned for multi-tasking).

After this busy time in my life, I came up with a list of ways to “un-busy” myself when I feel like I have too much on my plate- to centre myself, think logically and get through what I need to do without jeopardising the more important things in life.

  • Write a list of things to do and prioritise
  • Don’t procrastinate. Do what you have been putting off first thing and do not stop until it is done
  • Get organised- file your papers and neaten your workspace
  • Wake up earlier to get more things done in the day
  • Take regular breaks away from your desk for 5 minutes at a time
  • Set boundaries. When is work cut-off time? When is bed time?
  • Take the little opportunities to spend quality time with loved ones- lie on the couch and watch a TV show with your other half. Read bedtime stories to your children. Invite your friend over for a cup of coffee.
  • Create an exercise schedule and stick to it
  • Plan something fun to do once a week: shopping, dinner date, social gathering.
  • Take up a hobby and plan time to focus on your hobby regularly.
  • Make time to meditate (in whichever way you prefer) and just breathe.
  • Arrange time to spend on your image. Often we get so busy that we do not make an effort to look presentable.

At this stage, I still need to take my own advise, which I certainly am going to try and do, going forward.

I also want to leave you with this popular saying that rang true for me recently:

“Never get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life.”

Do you have any advise for those “busy-bodies” out there?

Much love,

J9

 

 

Leave a Reply

