Procrastination is my Middle Name

Welcome to my brand spanking new blog and very first blog post. So, while I have been pondering whether or not to start a blog (see how I cleverly called it pondering when in fact it was procrastinating), I figured that the start of a new year (and some nudging from an inspirational fellow blogger I recently met) was reason enough to stop the procrastinating and just get it done!

So here it is in all its glory.

Like me, you may also be a serial procrastinator. Leaving things until the very LAST minute (and use the old excuse like “I work well under pressure.” Really?) or just putting things off until further notice.

My New Year’s resolutions (that I have carried with me for years, like eat healthy, get fit, lose weight, stop biting my nails, get rich and so on), I figured are not going to be achieved until I commit to stop being a procrastinator.

But to stop procrastinating means that I need to know why I (and many others) do it in the first place. Is it just laziness? Lack of commitment? Lack of resources? Maybe. However, I believe that one of the crucial reasons is fear. You are scared to even start.

Scared of failure. Scared of getting hurt. Scared of what other people think. Scared of what can go wrong. Scared because you do not know how to do everything.

Scared. Scared. Scared.

Now I’m not saying that you put off washing the dishes because you are scared (although that depends how long they have been dirty and lying around for)- that is no doubt laziness- but when it comes to putting off big life goals and dreams, fear plays a big role.

I want to encourage you this year to stop procrastinating and take the first step towards your goals, today. A small step is better than no step and now is better than later. The next time you put off an activity that needs to be done in order to realise your dreams, remember these words by Jason Blume:

Every goal that has ever been achieved began with just one step- and the belief that it could be attained.

When the road becomes hard to travel and it feels as if you’ll never reach the end, look deep inside your heart and you will find the strength you never knew you had.

Believe in yourself- and remember that I believe in you too.

Much love,

J9

 

 

Leave a Reply

